Ya Lo Pasado, No Es La Cosa…

…loosely translated means “I’m outta here, it ain’t no thing.”  As I mentioned in a prior post, “Pasado,” is a phenomenal slow jam from the 70s by a group called The Pockets – an 8-man (yes, 8!) band out of Baltimore.  Earth, Wind and Fire discovered them and The Pockets opened for EWF a number of times.  Too bad they didn’t make it big like EWF, but with 8 people, it was probably tough.

Anyway, I’m not really a fan of covers, but The Pockets “Pasado” is actually a remake of an older version by the Five Stairsteps.  I think the cover is far superior.  And I like the snippet of synthesizer they used, even though the instrument conjures up bad memories of soulless 80s synth-pop.  Let me know what you think!

2 Comments

Filed under Sports

2 responses to “Ya Lo Pasado, No Es La Cosa…

  1. jay

    what?? randy dropping knowledge of obscure 70s slow jam funk bands out of baltimore. I’ll admit, I didn’t see that comin! plus I love the token white guy in the group- he has that look like “yeah, I got this. it’s all good.”

  2. After 38 years, there’s still some stuff you don’t know about me! What’s your take on which version is better?